Our Team - Coastal Carolina University
In This Section

Our Team

Arboretum Advisory Board

The arboretum is guided by an Advisory Board made up of representatives from across campus and the local community.

  • Dominique Werboff, Director of Arboriculture
  • Joshua Whitney, Horticultural Manager
  • Clayton Whitesides, Associate Professor of Anthropology & Geography
  • Robert Mealy, SPROUT President
  • Billie Rogers, CCU Alumna and former SPROUT President
  • Wanda Lilly, City of Conway Arborist
  • Jonathan Keyser, Executive Director of the Black River Cypress Preserve, Landscape Designer and Horticulturist

Tree Team

The Tree Team is a group of student workers who help manage the CCU Arboretum.

  • Audrey Spann, Sophomore, Sustainability & Coastal Resilience major
  • Robert Mealy, Junior, Marine Science major


The Grounds department includes a dedicated group of grounds and horticultural staff that grow and maintain the clean, safe, and sustainable living environment of the CCU campus.


SPROUT is a student club that helped start the CCU Arboretum and engages in a wide range of arboretum-related activities. SPROUT was founded in fall 2017 with a mission to promote sustainability; engage in sustainability activities on campus, including the CCU Arboretum and greenhouse; and provide interactive and hands-on educational experiences to students at CCU and the broader community about ways to sustainably engage with the environment. Join SPROUT on Coastal Connections!