In This Section

Biology Faculty and Staff

  Karen M. Aguirre
Associate Professor
KESH 233
843-349-4159
kmaguirr@coastal.edu
Teaching: Cell Biology (BIOL 340), Cell Biology Laboratory (BIOL 340L), Immunology (BIOL 405), Immunology Laboratory (BIOL 405L)
Research: Immunology of infectious diseases of the central nervous system; protein structure/function of extracellular matrix

  Anthony Audino
Lecturer
SCI2 312
843-349-4159
aaudino@coastal.edu
Teaching: Human Anatomy and Physiology I Lab (BIOL 232L)

  Karoline Baldus
Teaching Associate
KESH 114
843-349-4145
kbaldus@coastal.edu
Teaching: Biological Science I (BIOL 121), Biological Science I Lab (BIOL 121L), Fundamentals of Genetics Lab (BIOL 350L)

  Michelle Barthet
Assistant Professor
KESH 110
843-349-6905
mbarthet@coastal.edu
Teaching: Biological Science I (BIOL 121), Plant Physiology (BIOL 349), Plant Physiology Laboratory, (BIOL 349L), Fundamentals of Genetics Lab (BIOL 350L), Molecular Biology and Evolution (BIOL 450/450L)
Research: Molecular biology and evolution; post-transcription gene regulation in plants

  Stephen P. Bush
Professor
KESH 232
843-349-2269
bush@coastal.edu
Teaching:  Biological Science I (BIOL 121), Fundamentals of Genetics (BIOL 350), Rain Forest Biology (BIOL 362), Advanced Genetics (BIOL 442)
Research: Plant population genetics

  Tiffany Butler
Teaching Associate
SCI2 311
843-349-2710
tbutler@coastal.edu
Teaching: Human Anatomy and Physiology I Lab (BIOL 232L), Human Anatomy and Physiology II Lab (BIOL 242L)

  Megan Cevasco
Associate Professor
KESH 109
843-234-3456
mcevasco@coastal.edu
Teaching: Biological Science I (BIOL 121), Biological Science II (BIOL 122), Microbiology (BIOL 330), Microbiology Laboratory (BIOL 330L), Phylogenomics (BIOL 492)
Research: Systematics and evolution of marine protists and microbial symbioses.

  Geoffrey J. Cockrell
Senior Instructor
SCI2 314
843-349-2278
cockrell@coastal.edu
Teaching: Human Anatomy and Physiology I (BIOL 232), Human Anatomy and Physiology Laboratory (BIOL 232L), Human Anatomy and Physiology II (BIOL 242), Human Anatomy and Physiology II Laboratory (BIOL 242L)
Research: Physiological, morphological and behavioral adaptations of fishes.

  Derek P. Crane
Assistant Professor
SCI2 207G
843-349-4065
dcrane@coastal.edu
Personal webpage
Teaching: Biological Science II (BIOL 122), Biological Science II Laboratory (BIOL 122L), Principles of Ecology (BIOL 370), Ichthyology (BIOL 426/L)
Research: Fish ecology, Fisheries management, Aquatic ecology, Habitat modeling

  Heather Davis
Teaching Associate
KESH 114
843-349-2238
hldavis@coastal.edu
Teaching: The Science of Life Lab (BIOL 101L), Biological Science I Lab (BIOL 121L)

  Daniel Ferons
Teaching Associate
KESH 113
843-349-2238
dpferons@coastal.edu
Teaching: The Science of Life (BIOL 101), Biological Science II Lab (BIOL 122L)

  Sharon L. Gilman
Professor
KESH 120
843-349-2248
sgilman@coastal.edu
Personal webpage
Teaching: Biological Science I Lab (BIOL 121L), Biological Science II (BIOL 122), Biological Science II Lab (BIOL 122L), Evolution (BIOL 365/365L), Vertebrate Zoology (BIOL 485/485L)
Research: Science/Marine/Environmental Education, Fish Ecology

  Kevin S. Godwin
Associate Professor
SCI2 207E
843-349-4158
ksgodwin@coastal.edu
Personal webpage
Teaching: Biological Sciences II (BIOL 122), Principles of Ecology (BIOL 370), Plant Form and Function (BIOL 321/321L), Wetland Plant Ecology (BIOL 488/488L), Coastal Marine and Wetland Ecology (CMWS 602), Graduate Seminar (CMWS 697 & 698)
Research: The distribution of wetland rarity at all spatial levels

  Vladislav Gulis
Associate Professor
KESH 229
843-349-2576
vgulis@coastal.edu
Personal webpage
Teaching: Microbiology (BIOL 330), Microbiology Laboratory (BIOL330L), Microbial Ecology (BIOL 432/532), Mycology (BIOL 424/424L), Biological Science I (BIOL 121)
Research: Aquatic microbial ecology

  Christopher E. Hill
Professor
SCI2 207H
843-349-2567
chill@coastal.edu
Personal webpage
Teaching: Biological Science I (BIOL 121), Biological Science II (BIOL 122), Ornithology (BIOL 461/561), Molecular Techniques in Biology (BIOL 451/551), Animal Behavior (BIOL 436/536)
Research: Bird mating systems; seabird and marsh bird conservation; bird song

  Amy Hill
Teaching Associate
KESH 108
843-349-4065
ahill@coastal.edu
Teaching: Biological Science II Lab (BIOL 122L), Principles of Ecology Lab (BIOL 370L)

  John J. Hutchens, Jr.
Professor
SCI2 207C
843-349-2169
jjhutche@coastal.edu
Personal webpage
Teaching: Biological Science II (BIOL 122)Principles of Ecology (BIOL 370)Freshwater Ecology (BIOL 481/581), Freshwater Ecology Lab (BIOL 481L), Conservation Ecology (BIOL 484/584)Principles of Ecology Laboratory (BIOL 370L)
Research: Stream and wetland ecology

  Jennifer Jackson-Baro
Lecturer
SCI2 207F
843-349-6686
jjackson@coastal.edu
Teaching: Introduction to Science (SCIE 101), Introduction to Science Lab (SCIE 101L)

  Eric Konig
Teaching Associate
KESH 113
843-349-2238
ekonig@coastal.edu
Teaching: Human Anatomy and Physiology I Lab (BIOL 232L)

  Fang Ju Lin
Associate Professor
KESH 119
843-349-6484
flin@coastal.edu
Teaching: Biological Science I (BIOL 121), Biology of Human Cancer (BIOL 345), Cell Biology (BIOL 340), Developmental Biology (BIOL 410)
Research: Circadian Rhythms in fruit flies

  James O. Luken
Professor; Associate Provost for Graduate Programs; Interim Vice Dean, School of the Coastal Environment
Baxley Hall 223
843-349-2235
joluken@coastal.edu
Personal webpage
Teaching: CMWS 697 
Research: Wetland plant ecology

  Denise Oldeack
Administrative Specialist
SCI2 207A
843-349-2238
doldeack@coastal.edu

  Scott L. Parker
Associate Professor
KESH 230
843-349-2491
sparker@coastal.edu
Personal webpage
Teaching: Biological Science II (BIOL 122), Comparative Animal Physiology (BIOL 343), Physiological Ecology (BIOL 322), Herpetology (BIOL 417)
Research: Environmental Animal Physiology; Reproductive Physiology of Reptiles

  Michael M. Pierce
Chair and Associate Professor
SCI2 207B
843-349-6483
mpierce@coastal.edu
Teaching:  Biological Science I (BIOL 121), Fundamentals of Genetics (BIOL 350), Molecular Biology and Evolution (BIOL 450/450L)
Research: Molecular Biology and Genetics of Prions

  Kimberly M. Poston
Teaching Associate
SCI2 207D
843-349-2701
kposton@coastal.edu
Teaching: Principles of Microbiology (BIOL 330), Principles of Microbiology Laboratory (BIOL 330L)

  Suzanne S. Senchak
Senior Instructor
SCI2 214
843-347-2789
ssenchak@coastal.edu
Teaching: Biological Science I Lab (BIOL 121L), Biological Science II (BIOL 122), Biological Science II Lab (BIOL 122L), The Science of Life Lab (BIOL 101L), Cell Biology Lab (BIOL 340L)

  Alison Smoot-Pierce
Teaching Associate
SCI2 311
843-349-6688
asmootpi@coastal.edu
Teaching: The Science of Life (BIOL 101), The Science of Life Lab (BIOL 101L), Human Anatomy and Physiology I Lab (BIOL 232L)

  Douglas Van Hoewyk
Associate Professor
KESH 118
843-349-2431
dougvh@coastal.edu
Personal webpage
Teaching: Biological Science I (BIOL 121), Plant Physiology (BIOL 349), Plants and Civilization (BIOL 320), Cell Biology (BIOL 340)
Research: Plant Molecular Biology; Plant tolerance to stress

  Daniel C. Williams
Assistant Professor
KESH 231
843-349-6566
dwilliams@coastal.edu
Personal webpage
Teaching: Biological Science I (BIOL 121), Fundamentals of Genetics (BIOL 350), Neuroscience Foundations (BIOL 420), Neuroscience Foundations Lab (BIOL 420L)
Research: Neurobiology

  Tianyi Wu
Teaching Associate
KESH 114
843-349-2238
twu@coastal.edu
Teaching: Cell Biology Lab (BIOL 340L), Biological Science II Lab (BIOL 122L)