Meghan Hess

The official logo of 2016 #CCUfamily

Name: Meghan Hess

Hometown: Swords Creek, Va.

Year in School: Senior

Major: Marine Science                                                                                                        


Meghan is from Swords Creek, Va.

Meghan's Video

Meghan Hess decided to transfer to Coastal Carolina University last academic year for a couple reasons. For one, she wanted to take advantage of the nationally renowned marine science program. She also desired to become part of what she calls the “close-knit” campus community. Now a senior, Meghan will tell you she has enjoyed exactly what she came here for.

From a small town in Virginia called Swords Creek, Meghan is a big fan of the busier and more diverse atmosphere of the Grand Strand. A young woman with a diverse set of hobbies ranging from scuba diving to painting to hiking, she is able to satisfy all of her interests at Coastal while at the same time achieving her academic goals. Meghan hopes to use her marine science degree to land a job in her field that will allow her to travel the world.  If she is like many of her CCU marine science predecessors, her dream will eventually become a reality.         

Meghan transferred to Coastal last year.
Meghan is a marine science student.

Q&A with Meghan

How did you hear about Coastal?: I have family that live near the college and told me about it.

Why did you come to Coastal?: I have always wanted to study marine science and experience more than what my small town has to offer.

Favorite professor: Dr. Burge or Dr. Boneillo

Favorite class: Marine Biology

Favorite aspect of Coastal?: It is big enough that I see new faces every day, but also small enough that I recognize some of the same faces every day.

Favorite aspect of living in the Conway/Myrtle Beach area?: I can relax on the beach after a hard day/week of classes.

Clubs/Intramurals/other extracurricular activities involved in?: Aqua League Club

Do you work anywhere currently (either on or off campus)?: Palmetto Moon

Plans after graduation?:  Take a year off to travel and do internships to gain experience.             

What are your hobbies?: Hiking, kayaking and scuba diving.

Do you have any hidden talents?:  Painting and drawing.

Bonus Info: I am a transfer student who moved down here last year as a junior.