Sarah Hess

The official logo of 2016 #CCUfamily


Name: Sarah Hess                          

Hometown: Stafford, Va.

Year in School: Sophomore                                 

Major: Early Childhood Education


 Sarah came to Coastal because she fell in love with the location and the friendly people on campus.

Sarah's Video

Sarah Hess became aware of Coastal Carolina University through College Board but her interest in becoming a Chanticleer intensified once she visited campus. Once on CCU soil, she became attracted to not just the location of campus but to the people on it as well. It only helped that her tour guide chatted with Sarah non-stop about the area she grew up, helping to establish a bond.

Once enrolled, Sarah did something she never expected to do: She joined a sorority. Since becoming a sister of Alpha Delta Pi, she has surprised herself by her initiative to seek leadership positions and put herself out there. Sarah is gearing up for one of Alpha Delta Pi’s major events, Relay For Life, as she will be participating this year for a friend who has cancer.

Sarah plans to pursue a graduate degree after she graduates from CCU. Her ultimate goal is to become a preschool or kindergarten teacher. With Sarah showing no signs of falling off track, her education within the Spadoni College and her involvement within Alpha Delta Pi will mold her into a competitive and effective teacher.

Sarah is from Stafford, Va.
Sarah is an early childhood education student.

Q&A with Sarah

How did you hear about Coastal?: I found Coastal on the College Board website and heard about it from a few people in my hometown.

Why did you come to Coastal?: I came to Coastal because I fell in love with the location and all the friendly people on campus.

Favorite professor: Tiffany Hollis, Ph.D.

Favorite class: EDUC276 : Intro to Early Childhood Education

Favorite aspect of Coastal?: My favorite aspect of Coastal is that I can walk around campus and always see a familiar face no matter where on campus I am.

Favorite aspect of living in the Conway/Myrtle Beach area?: My favorite aspect of Conway/Myrtle Beach is that winter is super short so it's basically always warm.

Clubs/Intramurals/other extracurricular activities involved in?: Alpha Delta Pi, Coastal Carolina Catholics, Dalton and Linda Floyd Mentoring Program.

Plans after graduation?:  After graduation I want to move to Charleston, S.C., and attend College of Charleston for my graduate degree.    

What are your hobbies?: My hobbies including napping, shopping and hanging out with my friends.

Do you have any hidden talents?: I can touch my tongue to my nose.