Faculty - Coastal Carolina University
In This Section

Philosophy and Religious Studies Faculty and Staff

[Many of our offices are in AOC2, the new classroom building between Wall and Swain]

Ronald Green
Chair | Professor, Religious Studies
Areas of specialization: Buddhism, Hinduism, East Asian religions
AOC2 327 | 843-349-2782 | rgreen@coastal.edu

Cheryl L. Wagner
Administrative Specialist
843-349-6480 | cwagner1@coastal.edu 

Faculty

Dennis Earl
Professor of Philosophy
Areas of specialization: metaphysics, logic
AOC2 332 | 843-349-4094 | dearl@coastal.edu

Katherine Fazekas
Lecturer, Philosophy
Areas of specialization: metaphysics, ethics
AOC2 333 | 843-349-2625 | kfazekas@coastal.edu

Jeffry Halverson
Professor, Religious Studies
Areas of specialization: Islam, history of religions
AOC2 336 | 843-349-2974 | jhalverso@coastal.edu

Emily Humbert
Jackson Fellow
Areas of specialization: ethics, American philosophy, feminist philosophy, philosophy of race
AOC2 330 

Tom McCollough
Teaching Associate, Religious Studies
Area of specialization: Christianity
cmccollou@coastal.edu

Emily McGill 
Assistant Professor, Philosophy
Areas of specialization: ethics, social and political philosophy, feminist philosophy
AOC2 355 | emcgill@coastal.edu

Julinna Oxley
Professor, Philosophy
Director, Jackson Family Center for Ethics and Values
Areas of specialization: ethics, political philosophy, feminist philosophy, moral psychology
Edwards 217 | 843-349-6548 | joxley@coastal.edu

Edward M. Perez, Jr.
Lecturer, Philosophy
Areas of specialization: metaphysics, philosophy of religion
AOC2 337 | 843-349-6488 | eperez@coastal.edu

Nils Rauhut
Professor, Philosophy
Areas of specialization: ancient philosophy, logic
AOC2 335 | 843-349-2547 | nrauhut@coastal.edu

Michael Ruse
Associate Professor, Philosophy
Areas of specialization: phenomenology, philosophy of technology, social and political philosophy
AOC2 357 | 843-349-2548 | mruse@coastal.edu

Renée Smith
Professor, Philosophy
University Faculty Ombuds
Areas of specialization: philosophy of mind, epistemology, logic
AOC2 334 | 843-349-2083 | rsmith@coastal.edu

Clifford Sosis
Senior Lecturer, Philosophy
Areas of specialization: philosophy of science, ethics
AOC2 333 | 843-349-2293 | csosis@coastal.edu

Alan Todd
Senior Lecturer, Religious Studies
Areas of specialization: Judaism, early Christianity
AOC2 337 | 843-349-4141 | atodd1@coastal.edu

Jonathan Trerise
Professor, Philosophy
Areas of specialization: ethics, political philosophy
AOC2 331 | 843-349-2993 | jtrerise@coastal.edu

Erika Tritle
Assistant Professor, Religious Studies
Areas of specialization: Christianity, history of Christianity
AOC2 341 | etritle@coastal.edu

Casey Woodling
Senior Lecturer, Philosophy
Director of Academic Outreach and Continuing Education
Areas of specialization: philosophy of mind, ethics
Singlton 159 | 843-349-6922 | cwoodling@coastal.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Claudia McCollough
Founding Director, Jackson Family Center for Ethics and Values
Areas of specialization: ethics, philosophy of literature

Philip Schneider
Associate Professor, Philosophy
Areas of specialization: ethics, philosophy of science