In This Section

Philosophy and Religious Studies Faculty and Staff

[Many of our offices are now in AOC2, the new classroom building between Wall and Swain]

Dennis Earl
Chair | Associate Professor of Philosophy
Areas of specialization: metaphysics, logic
AOC2 327 | 843-349-4094 | dearl@coastal.edu

Judy Dow
Administrative Specialist
AOC2 328 | 843-349-2731 | jdow1@coastal.edu

 

Yonatan Binyam
Teaching Associate, Religious Studies
Areas of specialization: History of Christianity, Jewish-Christian and Byzantine-Muslim relations
AOC2 337 | ybinyam@coastal.edu

Ronald Green
Associate Professor, Religious Studies
Areas of specialization: Buddhism, Hinduism, East Asian religions
AOC2 332 | 843-349-2782 | rgreen@coastal.edu

Jeffry Halverson
Associate Professor, Religious Studies
Areas of specialization: Islam, history of religions
AOC2 336 | 843-349-2974 | jhalverso@coastal.edu

David Holiday
Ethics Fellow, Jackson Family Center for Ethics and Values
Areas of specialization: ethics, human rights
Edwards 217 | 843-349-5058 | dholiday@coastal.edu

Eva Kort
Lecturer, Philosophy
Areas of specialization: ethics, modern philosophy
AOC2 339 | 843-349-2677 | ekort@coastal.edu

Tom McCollough
Teaching Associate, Religious Studies
Areas of specialization: Christianity
AOC2 357 | cmmcollou@coastal.edu

Julinna Oxley
Associate Professor, Philosophy
Areas of specialization: ethics, feminist philosophy
AOC2 330  | 843-349-6548 | joxley@coastal.edu

Edward M. Perez, Jr.
Lecturer, Philosophy
Area of specialization: metaphysics, philosophy of religion
AOC2 355 | 843-349-6488 | eperez@coastal.edu

Nils Rauhut
Director, Jackson Family Center for Ethics and Values | Professor, Philosophy
Areas of specialization: ancient philosophy, logic
Edwards 232 | 843-349-2547 | nrauhut@coastal.edu

Michael Ruse
Director, University Honors Program | Associate Professor of Philosophy
Areas of specialization: phenomenology, philosophy of technology, social and political philosophy
Kearns 116 | 843-349-2548 | mruse@coastal.edu

Renée Smith
Professor, Philosophy
Areas of specialization: philosophy of mind, epistemology, logic
AOC2 334 | 843-349-2083 | rsmith@coastal.edu

Clifford Sosis
Lecturer, Philosophy
Areas of specialization: philosophy of science, ethics
AOC2 333 | 843-349-2293 | csosis@coastal.edu

Alan Todd
Lecturer, Religious Studies
Areas of specialization: Judaism, early Christianity
AOC2 337 | 843-349-4141 | atodd1@coastal.edu

Jonathan Trerise
Associate Professor, Philosophy
Areas of specialization: ethics, political philosophy
AOC2 331 | 843-349-2993 | jtrerise@coastal.edu

Casey Woodling
Lecturer, Philosophy
Areas of specialization: philosophy of mind, ethics
AOC2 335 | 843-349-6922 | cwoodling@coastal.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Claudia McCollough
Founding Director, Jackson Family Center for Ethics and Values
Areas of specialization: ethics, philosophy of literature

Philip Schneider
Associate Professor, Philosophy
Areas of specialization: ethics, philosophy of science