University Research Council

University Research Council

The purpose of the University Research Council (URC) is to provide advice and representation to the Office of Research to promote and enhance research activities and programs carried out by faculty, students and staff.

The committee will:

  • advance, review, and propose policies, practices and infrastructure required to support, enhance and incentivize research,
  • facilitate interdisciplinary dialogue and provide input and recommendations related to the promotion and marketing of research opportunities and accomplishments at the University,
  • provide recommendations for small research awards and recognition honors, such as graduate student research incentive grants and faculty researcher recognitions.

URC Awards and Recognitions

URC Meetings

  • Minutes and Agendas (coming soon)

Committee Membership

The committee consists of two faculty representatives for each college appointed by the dean (except the HTC Honors which has one representative, and none from the College of Graduate and Continuing Studies, which has no assigned faculty) and one library representative appointed by the University Librarian.  In addition, the committee includes the Dean of Graduate and Continuing Studies, the Director of Undergraduate Research, the Director of the Honors Program, the Director of the Office of Sponsored Programs and Research Services, and the Associate Provost for Research who serves as the committee chair.

  • Aneilya Barnes, Director of Undergraduate Research
  • Lee Brown, Dean of Graduate and Continuing Studies
  • Stephanie Cassavaugh, Director of Office of Sponsored Programs and Research Services
  • Chiara Gamberi, GCOS Representative
  • Louis Keiner, Director of Honors Program and HTC Honors College Representative
  • Jacob Lauver, CMCCHPP Representative
  • Marc McAllister, WCOB Representative
  • Rhonda Miller, SCESS Representative
  • Leann Mischel, WCOB Representative
  • James Ndone, COHFA Representative
  • Jason Ockert, COHFA Representative
  • David Palmer, SCESS Representative
  • Eric Resnis, Library Representative
  • Zhixiong Shen, GCOS Representative
  • Nikolas Webster, CMCCHPP Representative
  • Robert Young, Associate Provost for Research, URC Chair