Faculty - Coastal Carolina University
In This Section

Intelligence and National Securities Faculty


Jonathan Smith, Ph.D.
Professor, Department Chair 
Areas of Expertise: Intelligence Operations, National Security Strategy, Homeland Security, Intelligence Analysis
Brittain Hall 230 | 843-349-6573 | jonsmith@coastal.edu

Kelly Burton
Admisitrative Specialist
Brittian Hall 229 | 843-349-2621 | kburton1@coastal.edu 


Jonathan Acuff, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Areas of Expertise: International Security, Intelligence Analysis, Strategy, Ethnic Conflict and Nationalism, and Social Theory
Brittain Hall 223 | 843-349-2339 | jacuff@coastal.edu

Mark Chandler
Professor of Practice
Areas of Expertise: Department of Defense Intelligence Leadership, National Security Strategy and Policy, Intelligence Analysis, and Intelligence Operations
Brittain Hall 234 | Mschand2@coastal.edu 

Matt Cobb
Assistant Professor 
Areas of Expertise: Political Violence, International Security, and Economic Dimensions of Security, Research Methods
Brittain Hall 227 | mcobb1@coastal.edu 

Christopher Ferrero, Ph.D.
Associate Professor 
Areas of Expertise: Nuclear Proliferation, Deterrence, Intelligence Operations, the Middle East
Brittain Hall 224 | 843-349-2607 | cferrero@coastal.edu 

Joseph Fitsanakis, Ph.D.
Professor 
Areas of Expertise: Intelligence Dissemination, Cyber-Espionage, Communications Interception, Human Intelligence, Intelligence Elsewhere
Brittain Hall 231 | 843-349-6618 | jfitsanak@coastal.edu 

Bridget Nolan
Assistant Professor
Areas of Expertise: TBA
Brittain Hall 233 | 843-349-2839 | bnolan@coastal.edu 

Jordan Roberts
Assistant Professor 
Areas of Expertise: Covert Action, Intelligence Analysis, National Security, Quantitative Analysis
Brittain Hall 228 | jrobert2@coastal.edu 

Affliated Faculty  

John Nomikos, Ph.D.
Professor
Areas of Expertise: International Security, Intelligence, East European Affairs
jnomikos@coastal.edu