Honors Convocation - Coastal Carolina University
In This Section

2019 Honors Convocation

Departmental Awards

Departmental Awards recognize outstanding academic accomplishments by students as well as contributions to the academic quality of the department. Candidates are nominated and selected by the college faculty. Select a student's name from the list below to learn more about their accomplishments.

Undergraduate Programs

Accounting Emily Towne
Anthropology and Geography Sydney James
Art History Troy Kinner
Art Studio Sarah Hallstein
Biochemistry Elizabeth Cox
Biology Alyssa Risner
Chemistry Lucas Bialousow
Communication Morgan Howder
Computer Science Megan Hickman Fulp
Early Childhood Education Bailey Lewis
Economics (B.A.) Trevor Bigham
Economics (B.S.B.A.) Madison Wolf
Elementary Education Emily Day
English Sierra Windham
Exercise and Sport Science Hailey Wimmenauer
Graphic Design Nathan Paschal
Health Administration Jason Gerner
History Katlin Wood
Hospitality, Resort and Tourism Management Allison Cotte
Information Systems Kenneth Lilly
Information Technology Daniel Miranda
Intelligence and National Security Studies Madison Scholar
Interdisciplinary Studies Amanda White
Languages and Intercultural Studies Kristina Knudtson
Management and Marketing Elizabeth Voigt
Marine Science Jessica Myers
Mathematics Alexander Foster

Middle Level Education Linda Morris
Music Brenna Wiinanen
Nursing Vanessa Suggs
Philosophy Yaicha Ocampo
Physical Education Nicole Van Norman
Physics Katrina Hughes
Political Science Ryan Case
Psychology Maria Sparacino
Public Health Lizeth Alcantar
Recreation and Sport Management Caroline Brown
Sociology Benzell Vereen
Special Education, Multi-Categorical Rebecca Lopes
Theatre (B.A.) Brooke Bloomquist  
Theatre Arts (B.F.A.) 

Graduate Programs

Master of Accountancy Dylan Boston
Master of Arts in Liberal Studies Ragen Johnson
Master of Arts in Teaching Camren Schildth
Master of Arts in Writing Sarah Navin
Master of Business Administration Kristyn Ortiz
Master of Education in Educational Leadership Lori Whitaker
Master of Education in Instructional Technology Tytianna Williams
Master of Education in Language, Literacy and Culture Katherine LaMaster
Master of Education in Special Education Felicia Martin
Educational Specialist in Instructional Technology Gregory Johnson Sr.
Master of Science in Coastal Marine and Wetland Studies Kathryn Greiner-Ferris
Master of Science in Information Systems Technology Hope Epton
Master of Science in Sport Management Taylor Allman

Recognitions and Awards

In addition to the departmental awards, others students recognized at the Honors Convocation include the following:

University Honors College graduates

The primary mission of the Honors College at Coastal Carolina University is to encourage and assist honors students in developing reasoning, intellectual, leadership, decision-making, organizational and social skills through high-quality, challenging classroom instruction and participation in community service projects.

See all Honors College seniors »

Dyer Fellows

The focus of the Dyer Institute for Leadership and Public Policy is to engage students in active learning opportunities where they may gain knowledge in various areas of policy research. The goal is to provide students with experience that will connect academic theory to practice as well as foster the importance of civic-minded citizens.

Tiffany Dantzler
Krystina Millar
Alexandria Putman
John Quinn
Madison Scholar
Brittany Shaughnessy

Jackson Scholars

Students are chosen every other year for Coastal Carolina University’s two-year Jackson Scholars program, established in 2004 to cultivate and promote awareness in students of the importance of personal and professional integrity.

Kaitlyn Dallis
Shadaisha Hamilton
Krystina Millar
Yaicha Ocampo
Jason Renne
Emily Thibeault

Swain Scholars

Established through the generous donation of Kenneth Swain of Myrtle Beach, the scholarship and credit-bearing Swain Scholars program develops students in community health outreach through coursework, training and internships.

Amber Rahman
Rachel Trudon
Hailey Wimmenauer

Teaching Fellows

The South Carolina Teaching Fellows Program is a scholarship program funded by the Center for Educator Recruitment, Retention, and Advancement (CERRA). The program supports high-achieving South Carolina high school students who wish to pursue a degree in education. Following graduation, scholarship recipients must teach in a state public school for a minimum of three years. The Teaching Fellows receive professional development and as serve in leadership roles. CCU is one of only 11 institutions in the state identified as a Teaching Fellows Institution, and is highly competitive in receiving 20-25 students each year.

Madison Aaron
Tiffany Barr
Raegan Dore
Alyssa Fencel-Davila
Jessica Garner
Bailey Lewis
Taylor McConnell
Hannah McKinney
Michelle Pitoscia
Hannah Rowles
Kelli Swann
Jenna Tindall
Wilson Wiggins

Wall Fellows

Founded in 1995, the University's Wall Fellows program is a unique organization designed to prepare top business, science and humanities students for high-level careers in major U.S. and international corporations and organizations.

Patrick Dempsey
Trevor Greene
Nathan Hord
Morgan Howder
Madison Wolf
Paul Zeuschner