Graduate Faculty Profiles - Coastal Carolina University
In This Section

Graduate Faculty

"I believe the true wealth of CCU's MAW program is the staff. Working in classrooms and through one-on-one meetings or just having countless conversations about writing, I've found both mentors and friends. My writing became something new. Sometimes it found a new inspiration. Sometimes it found new purpose. When I discovered what was possible, I jumped into this program with both feet and found myself transformed."

- Derrick Bracey, MAW alum 

Program Coordinator

Kate Faber Oestreich
British Literature of the Long 19thC, Digital Storytelling, and Neo-Victorian Adaptations / Appropriations
Associate Professor
Edwards 211  |  843-349-6602  |  koestrei@coastal.edu 

Creative Writing 

Dan Albergotti
Creative Writing, Poetry
Professor
Edwards 215  |  843-349-2420  |  albergot@coastal.edu 

Colin Burch
Creative Writing, Nonfiction
Senior Lecturer
Edwards 276  |  843-349-6617  |  cburch1@coastal.edu 

Jason Ockert
Creative Writing, Fiction
Professor
Edwards 233  |  843-349-2531  |  jockert@coastal.edu 

Lane Osborne
Creative Writing, Fiction
Lecturer
Brittain Hall 341 | 843-349-2871 | losborne@coastal.edu 

Joe Oestreich
Creative Writing, Nonfiction
Associate Dean and Professor of English
Edwards 203  |  843-349-2433  |  joeo@coastal.edu 

Jessica Lee Richardson
Coordinator of Creative Writing
Associate Professor
Edwards 234  |  843-349-2532  |  jliebeck@coastal.edu  

Digital Culture and Design 

Jen Boyle
Early Modern, New Media, Theory
Assistant Dean and Professor 
Edwards 292  |  843-349-6654  |  jboyle@coastal.edu  

Emily Brooks
Digital Cultural and Design
Assistant Professor
Edwards 216 | 843-349-2570 | ebrooks@coastal.edu 

Sara Whitcomb Laiola
Digital Humanities, New and Emerging Media, Visual Art and Culture
Assistant Professor and Coordinator Digital Culture and Design
Edwards 106A | 843-349-6941 | slozierl@coastal.edu 

Linguistics 

J. Daniel Hasty
Sociolinguistics, Syntactic Variation, Language Attitudes
Associate Professor
Edwards 208  |  843-349-6685  |  jhasty@coastal.edu 

Literature 

Steve Hamelman
Early American Literature, Literary and Media Theory, Popular Music
Professor
Edwards 291  |  843-349-2623  |  steveh@coastal.edu 

Tabitha Lowery
Coordinator of Literature and Culture, African-American Literatures & Cultures
Assistant Professor
Edwards 288 | 843-349-2756 | tlowery@coastal.edu 

Anna Oldfield
World Literature, Folklore, Magical Realism and Russian Literature
Associate Professor
Edwards 204  |  843-349-6591  |  aoldfield@coastal.edu 

Tripthi Pillai 
English Renaissance Literature and Drama, Shakespeare
Associate Professor
Edwards 207  |  843-243-3410  |  tpillai@coastal.edu 

Cynthia Port
Modern and Contemporary British and Anglophone Literature, Age Studies, Literary and Cultural Theory
Associate Professor
Edwards 213  |  843-349-2565  |  cport@coastal.edu 

Writing and Rhetoric

Emma Howes
Composition and Rhetoric, Literacy Studies, and Feminist Theory
Associate Professor
Edwards 212  |  843-349-6977  |  ehowes@coastal.edu 

Denise Paster
Coordinator of First Year Writing
Associate Professor
Edwards 214  |  843-349-2612  |  dpaster@coastal.edu

Alan Reid
Composition, Professional and Technical Writing, Instructional Design and Technology
Associate Professor
Edwards 206  |  843-349-6974  |  areid@coastal.edu

Christian Smith 
Composition and Rhetoric
Associate Professor
Edwards 210  |  843-349-6967  |  csmith8@coastal.edu