Communication, Media, and Culture - Coastal Carolina University
In This Section

Communication, Media, and Culture

Communication is a perfect major for students interested in all aspects of human interaction. Majors learn a mix of research approaches to studying human interaction, including observation, survey research and experimental methods. More than 450 Coastal Carolina University students currently study in the five Communication concentrations and over 100 others minor in Communication or Journalism. 

Programs 

Communication (BA) Concentrations:

Minors and Certificates

Graduate Programs

The department also offers a graduate degree, the Master of Arts in Communication.

 

Department Administration

Kyle J. Holody
Department Chair | Professor
Brittain Hall 312 | 843-349-2946 | kholody@coastal.edu

Lisa Bair
Administrative Specialist
Brittain Hall 311 | 843-349-2450 | lbair@coastal.edu

Dr. Cassandra Hill
Associate Chair | Associate Professor | chill2@coastal.edu

  • 2018 Chair teaching award
  • 2019 Apple teaching award

Dr. Corinne Dalelio
Graduate Coordinator | Associate Professor
Brittain Hall 313 | 843-349-2963 | cdalelio@coastal.edu 

Professional Advisors

Heather Huffman
Director of Edwards Advising
Brittain Hall 330 | 843-349-2941 | hhuffman@coastal.edu

Ana Maria Lavado
Advisor: A-M last names
Brittain Hall 327 | 843-349-2904 | alavado@coastal.edu

William Wright
Advisor: N-Z last names

Brittain Hall 329 | 843-349-6426 | wwright@coastal.edu

 

The Department of Communication, Media, and Culture at Coastal Carolina University is committed to the pursuit of intentional, reflective, and systemic practices and praxes to mitigate and alleviate exclusion, inequity, hate, violence, and any forms of communication that sustain or reinforce such attitudes and behaviors. As members of the National Communication Association (NCA), we affirm the values expressed in its Credo for Free and Responsible Communication in a Democratic Society and its Resolution Condemning White Supremacy in Political DiscourseWe are committed to working towards social justice and the condemnation of communication and actions that promote and/or express hatred, discriminationintolerance, and violence.  

Please send questions, comments, or information requests to Comm@coastal.edu.