Faculty & Staff - Coastal Carolina University
In This Section

Communication, Media, & Culture

Department Administration

Dr. Kyle J. Holody
Department Chair | Professor
Brittain Hall 312 | 843-349-2946 | kholody@coastal.edu

Lisa Bair
Administrative Specialist
Brittain Hall 311 | 843-349-2450 | lbair@coastal.edu

Dr. Christina Selby
Associate Chair | Professor
Brittain Hall 315 | 843-349-2954 | cselby@coastal.edu

Dr. Corinne Dalelio
Graduate Coordinator | Associate Professor
Brittain Hall 313 | 843-349-2963 | cdalelio@coastal.edu 

Dr. Jeffrey Ranta
Internship Coordinator | Assistant Professor
Brittain Hall 314 | 843-349-6662 | jranta@coastal.edu

Dr. Misti Williams
Department Advising Coordinator | Senior Lecturer
Brittain Hall 320 | 843-349-6514 | mwilliams@coastal.edu

Professional Advisors

(Freshmen and Sophomore Years)

Ana Maria LavadoBrittain Hall 331 | 843-349-2904 | alavado@coastal.edu

Emily SchneiderBrittain Hall 328 | 843-349-2827 | eschneide@coastal.edu

Faculty

Rachel Abarbanell
Teaching Associate
Communication Coordinator for Auxillary Enterprises
rhabarba@coastal.edu

Dr. J. C. Abdallah
Assistant Professor
Co-Advisor: Lambda Pi Eta honor society
Brittain Hall 324 | 843-349-4133jabdallah@coastal.edu

Chris Bailey
Teaching Associate
cbailey1@coastal.edu

Jane A. Bailey
Teaching Associate
jbailey2@coastal.edu

Nadzeya Batson
Lecturer
Brittain Hall 320 | 843-349-2450nvbatson@coastal.edu

Dr. Andrea Bergstrom
Associate Professor | Graduate Faculty
Assessment Coordinator

Brittain Hall 321 | 843-349-2861abergstro@coastal.edu

Ian Livingston Brooking
Teaching Associate
ilbrookin@coastal.edu

Claire Calhoun
Teaching Associate
jcalhou3@coastal.edu

Dr. Linsay M. Cramer
Associate Professor | Graduate Faculty
Brittain Hall 305 | 843-349-4151lcramer@coastal.edu

Dr. Corinne Dalelio
Associate Professor | Graduate Faculty
Graduate Coordinator | Course Director: COMM 150

Brittain Hall 313 | 843-349-2963cdalelio@coastal.edu

Michael DiGiorgio
Teaching Associate
Digital Studio Director
Edwards Building 255 | 843-349-2678mdigiorgi@coastal.edu

Krystal Dotson
Teaching Associate
krforsh@coastal.edu

Dr. James Everett
Professor | Graduate Faculty
Brittain Hall 306 | 843-349-2583jeverett@coastal.edu

Angela Fabbri
Teaching Associate
afabbri1@coastal.edu

Dr. Wes E. Fondren
Associate Professor | Graduate Faculty
Associate Dean, College of Graduate and Continuing Studies
Director, Johnson-Brown Innovation & Opportunity Center

Singleton Hall 152 | 843-349-6656 | wfondren@coastal.edu

Matt Hogue
Teaching Associate
Coastal Carolina University Athletic Director
dhogue@coastal.edu

Dr. Kyle J. Holody
Professor | Graduate Faculty
Department Chair
Brittain Hall 312 | 843-349-2946 | kholody@coastal.edu

Dr. Candace Howell
Teaching Associate
HGTC.edu Assistant Vice President for Academic Affairs/Dean, School of Arts and Sciences

chowell@coastal.edu

Dr. Sofia Karatza
Associate Professor | Graduate Faculty
Brittain Hall 309 | 843-349-2496 | skaratza@coastal.edu

Dr. Elizabeth Muckensturm
Senior Lecturer
Brittain Hall 325 | 843-349-6968emuckenst@coastal.edu

Dr. James Ndone
Assistant Professor | Graduate Faculty
Brittain Hall 308 | 843-349-2725 | jndone@coastal.edu

Dr. Adam Pitluk
Assistant Professor | Graduate Faculty
Brittain Hall 317 | 843-349-2496apitluk@coastal.edu

Dr. Jeffrey Ranta
Assistant Professor | Graduate Faculty

Internship Coordinator | Advisor: WCCU Radio
Brittain Hall 314 | 843-349-6662 | jranta@coastal.edu 

Brian Roessler
Senior Lecturer
Co-Advisor: Lambda Pi Eta honor society

Brittain Hall 318 | 843-349-2163broessle@coastal.edu 

Steve Rondinaro
Teaching Associate
srondinar@coastal.edu

Dr. José Sanjinés
Professor | Graduate Faculty

Brittain Hall 319 | 843-349-2467 | sanjines@coastal.edu

Kimberly Schumacher
Senior Lecturer

Brittain Hall 316 | 843-349-6572kschumach@coastal.edu

Dr. Christina Selby
Professor | Graduate Faculty
Associate Department Chair

Brittain Hall 315 | 843-349-2954cselby@coastal.edu

Jeanne Stewart
Lecturer | Course Director: COMM 140

Brittain Hall 318 | 843-349-6909jstewar1@coastal.edu 

Sharon Tutrone
Lecturer
Brittain Hall 325 | 843-349-2450stutrone@coastal.edu 

Dr. Verne Walker
Teaching Associate
Director of Career Services
vwalker@coastal.edu

Dr. Wendy Weinhold
Associate Professor | Graduate Faculty
Advisor: The Chanticleer (newspaper)
Brittain Hall 323 | 843-349-6471 | wweinhold@coastal.edu 

Dr. Misti Williams
Senior Lecturer
Department Advising Coordinator

Brittain Hall 320 | 843-349-6514mwilliams@coastal.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Dr. Deborah Cunningham Breede
Professor Emeritus
dbreede@coastal.edu

Gwen Fowler
Senior Lecturer
gfowler@coastal.edu

Linda Kuykendall
Senior Instructor
lindak@coastal.edu 

Dr. Steven Madden
Distinguished Professor Emeritus
madden@coastal.edu

History of Department

2001 - Communication major developed by Dr. Lee Bollinger and Linda P. Kuykendall, in Department of English
2005 - Dr. Deborah Cunningham Breede hired as full-time Communication faculty member in Department of English
2006 - Communication major begins in Department of English (chair: Dr. Sarah Sanders)
2007 - Department of Communication forms (chair: Dr. Steve Madden)
2009 - Department of Communication & Journalism (interim chair: Dr. John Navin)
2010 - Chair: Dr. James Everett
- WCCU Radio begins
2012 - Department of Communication, Languages, & Cultures forms between Department of Communication & Journalism and Department of Foreign Languages (chair: Dr. James Everett; associate chair: Dr. Christina Selby)
- Communication major offers four concentrations (communication studies, health communication, interactive journalism, public relations/integrated communication)
2016 - Department of Communication, Media, & Culture forms, separate from new Department of Languages and Intercultural Studies (chair: Dr. Wes E. Fondren; associate chairs: Dr. Christina Selby, Dr. Kyle J. Holody)
- Communication major offers five concentrations (adding sports communication)
- Master of Arts in Communication program begins (graduate coordinator: Dr. Deborah Cunningham Breede)
2019 - Interim chairs: Dr. Kyle J. Holody, Dr. Frederick Wood; associate chair: Dr. Christina Selby
- Graduate coordinator: Dr. Corinne Dalelio
2020 - Chair: Dr. Kyle J. Holody; associate chairs: Dr. Cassandra Carlson Hill, Dr. Christina Selby
- Graduate coordinator: Dr. Corinne Dalelio

            Link to Department of Communication, Media, and Culture's LinkedIn account