Jackson Scholar Alumni

Please scroll past the profile highlights to see the complete list of previous Jackson Scholar cohorts.

Krystina Millar

Graduating with her BA in Sociology in Spring 2019, Krystina started graduate school at Indiana University Bloomington for her PhD. During her time as a Jackson Scholar, she went on to become a Dyer Fellow and conducted research on transgender health care policies in the United States prison system. She was the recipient of the 2019 Lackey Service Award, which is presented annually to a Coastal Carolina University senior who serves the university community with conspicuous service through involvement and leadership in campus and community activities. The award was given in recognition for Krystina’s influential role in making CCU a more gender-equitable and inclusive place to live and work.

Austin Nichols
Image result for austin nichols coastal carolina university

Austin graduated from CCU in Spring 2017 with a BA in Political Science, and is currently attending law school at the University of South Carolina (Columbia). During his time at CCU, Austin worked in the office of the Dean of Humanities and Fine Arts as a trusted and valued student assistant, and helped to found the African American Initiative for Males (A.A.I.M.), an important and highly successful program for student retention and success. He was also an influential figure in the Student Government Association, serving as its President in his senior year.

Carlie Todd
Carlie Todd Jackson Scholar (Added 1/19/2022) MCD

Carlie graduated as the Undergraduate Student of the Year in Spring 2018 and with a BA in History and Intelligence and National Security Studies. During her time at Coastal, she was a project leader for the Athenaeum Press, where she helped archive Horry county historical records, and won the best overall paper at the 2018 Phi Alpha Theta history conference for her work on a local influenza pandemic. In Fall 2018, she started graduate school at the University of South Carolina in Columbia, where she is studying for a PhD in History with a focus on women’s changing roles in national intelligence and security during the cold war.

Nicholas Smith

After attaining his BA in Intelligence and National Security Studies in Spring 2018, Nicholas went on to attend law school at the University of South Carolina in Columbia. During his time in the Jackson Scholar program, Nicholas helped create and present in a panel discussion on “Artificial Intelligence and the Ethics of Future Warfare” and added a philosophy minor to his degree. After graduating from the program, he received a Dyer Fellowship to conduct research on the privacy rights in the digital age of autonomous computing systems.

2021 - 2023

Rebekah Miles

Nicolette Hare

Adonya Pertell

Maxwell Pate


Megan Shoop

Lucken Wilson

Buddy Funes

Jelani Boyd

Hailey Marrero

Patrick Gray

Jacob Culp


Cameron Carroll - Biochemistry

Anaiya Moore - Business Management, minor in Hospitality Resort and Tourism Management

Lauren Palazuelos - Philosophy, minor in English


Kaitlyn Dallis - Communications (concentration in Public Relations), minor in Philosophy

Krystina Millar - Sociology, minor in Women's and Gender Studies

Emily Thibeault - Communications, minor in Photography


Yaicha Ocampo - English

Carlie Todd - History and Intelligence & National Security Studies

Nicholas Smith - Intelligence & National Security Studies

Shadaisha Hamilton - Political Science

Jason Renne II - Communications 


Austin Nichols - Political Science

Garland Shrader - Philosophy

Albert "LaTrez" Chestnut - Recreation & Sports Management

Thea McInnis - Hospitality, Resort & Tourism Management 

Kira Elton - Sociology

Kaitlyn Powalie - Psychology and Philosophy

Merwan Luck - Computer Science                                                                                       


Darcy Barr - Biology

Julietta Marks - Political Science  


Joseph Flemming

Courtney Mills

Sarah Robinson

Shelby Dangerfield

Nicklaus McKinney 


Cherly Anthony

Amber Eckersley

Kara Olson

Caitlyn Rhodes

Miranda Frederick 


Christine Brown

Tiffani Cosson

Dea Kamberaj 


Tarrah Casey

Sara Heishman

Perry Helton

Sonila Merkouris


Tobias Banks

Zebbith Brown

Marissa Mitzner

Amanda Price


Kate Carlier

Caroline Smith

Anne Tyson