In This Section

English Faculty

Faculty are listed by area of expertise in alphabetical order

Department Staff

Joe Oestreich
Creative Writing, Nonfiction
Professor and Department Chair
Edwards 223  |  843-349-2433  |  joeo@coastal.edu 

Joan Trupiano
Administrative Specialist
Edwards 224  |  843-349-6423  |  trupiano@coastal.edu 

Creative Writing 

Dan Albergotti
Creative Writing, Poetry
Professor
Edwards 215  |  843-349-2420  |  albergot@coastal.edu 

Jason Bordt
Creative Writing, Fiction
Lecturer
Brittian Hall 218  |  843-349-6658  |  jbordt@coastal.edu 

Colin Burch
Creative Writing, Nonfiction
Lecturer
Edwards 276  |  843-349-6617  |  cburch1@coastal.edu 

Jeremy Griffin
Creative Writing, Fiction
Lecturer
Edwards 269  |  843-349-4091  |  jgriffin@coastal.edu 

Hastings Hensel
Creative Writing, Poetry
Senior Lecturer
Edwards 276  |  843-349-2917  |  whensel@coastal.edu 

Jason Ockert
Creative Writing, Fiction
Professor
Edwards 233  |  843-349-2531  |  jockert@coastal.edu 

Lane Osborne
Creative Writing, Fiction
Lecturer
Brittain Hall 341 | 843-349-2871 | losborne@coastal.edu 

Jessica Lee Richardson
Creative Writing, Fiction
Assistant Professor
Edwards 234  |  843-349-2532  |  jliebeck@coastal.edu  

Digital Culture and Design 

Jen Boyle
Early Modern, New Media, Theory
Professor and Coordinator Digital Culture and Design
Edwards 106A  |  843-349-6654  |  jboyle@coastal.edu  

Sarah Lozier-Laiola
Digital Humanities, New and Emerging Media, Visual Art and Culture
Assistant Professor
Edwards 279 | 843-349-6941 | slozierl@coastal.edu 

Linguistics 

Becky Childs
Sociolinguistics, Acoustic Phonetics, Phonology
Professor
Edwards 209  |  843-349-6428  |  rchilds@coastal.edu 

Kristen Fleckenstein
Discourse Analysis
Assistant Professor
Edwards 292  |  843-349-5006  |  kfleckens@coastal.edu 

J. Daniel Hasty
Sociolinguistics, Syntactic Variation, Language Attitudes
Associate Professor
Edwards 208  |  843-349-6685  |  jhasty@coastal.edu 

Literature 

Ellen Arnold
Nineteenth Century British Literature, Women's Studies
Senior Lecturer
Edwards 289  |  843-349-2606  |  sarnold@coastal.edu 

Steve Hamelman
Early American Literature, Literary and Media Theory, Popular Music
Professor
Edwards 291  |  843-349-2623  |  steveh@coastal.edu 

Ray Moye
Old and Middle English
Associate Professor
Edwards 231  |  843-349-2948  |  raymoye@coastal.edu 

Kate Faber Oestreich
British Literature of the Long Nineteenth Century, Critical Theory, Feminism
Associate Professor
Edwards 211  |  843-349-6602  |  koestrei@coastal.edu 

Anna Oldfield
Comparative Literature, Russian Literature and Film
Associate Professor
Edwards 204  |  843-349-6591  |  aoldfield@coastal.edu 

Tripthi Pillai
English Renaissance Literature and Drama, Shakespeare
Associate Professor
Edwards 207  |  843-243-3410  |  tpillai@coastal.edu 

Cynthia Port
Modern and Contemporary British and Anglophone Literature, Age Studies, Literary and Cultural Theory
Associate Professor
Edwards 290  |  843-349-2565  |  cport@coastal.edu 

Keaghan Turner
Late Victorian Literature and Culture, Writing and Digital Media, Gender Studies
Assistant Professor
Edwards 288  |  843-349-4048  |  kturner@coastal.edu  

Writing and Rhetoric

Aari L. Campbell
Compostion
Lecturer
Brittain Hall 226 | 843-349-2124 | docampbe@coastal.edu 

Lena Butingaro
Compostion
Lecturer
EHFA 263 | 843-349-6930 | lrbuting@coastal.edu 

Joshua Cross
Composition
Lecturer
Edwards 277  |  843-349-4118  |  jcross2@coastal.edu 

Mary Emery
Composition
Lecturer
Edwards 289  |  843-349-2833  |  memery@coastal.edu 

Cathy Focarazzo-Riley
Compositon
Lecturer
Edwards 263J  | 843-349-2334 | cfocarazz@coastal.edu 

Lisa Graves
Composition
Lecturer
Edwards 213  |  843-349-6668  |  lborne1@coastal.edu 

Amanda Grefski
Composition and Survivor Writing
Lecturer
Brittain Hall 225  |  843-349-4084  |  agrefski@coastal.edu  

Emma Howes
Composition and Rhetoric, Literacy Studies, and Feminist Theory
Assistant Professor
Edwards 212  |  843-349-6977  |  ehowes@coastal.edu 

David Kellogg
Technical and Professional Writing, Rhetoric of Science
Associate Professor
Edwards 293  |  843-349-6554  |  dkellogg@coastal.edu 

Linda Martin
Composition
Senior Lecturer
Brittain Hall 225  |  843-234-3495  |  lmartin1@coastal.edu  

Steve McCartney
Composition
Lecturer
Brittain Hall 218  |  843-349-2798  |  smccartn@coastal.edu

Marcia McCreary
Composition
Lecturer
Brittain Hall 341 | 843-349-6445 | mmccreary@coastal.edu

Denise Paster
Composition and Rhetoric
Associate Professor and Coordinator of Composition
Edwards 214  |  843-349-2612  |  dpaster@coastal.edu

Paul Plisiewicz
Composition
Lecturer
Brittain Hall 379 | 843-349-4051 | ppliesiewi@coastal.edu

Alan Reid
Composition, Professional and Technical Writing, Instructional Design and Technology
Assistant Professor
Edwards 206  |  843-349-6974  |  areid@coastal.edu

Shawna Roessler
Composition
Lecturer
Academic Office Bldg. 2  239 | 843-349-2781 | shalber@coastal.edu

Ryan Shelley
Composition
Lecturer
Brittain Hall 228  |  843-349-4179  |  rshelley@coastal.edu  

Christian Smith
Composition and Rhetoric
Assistant Professor
Edwards 210  |  843-349-6967  |  csmith8@coastal.edu 

Sara Sobota
Composition and Rhetoric, Business Communication, Travel Writing
Senior Lecturer and Edwards College Publications Editor
Edwards 109  |  843-349-2507  |  ssobota@coastal.edu  

Shannon Stewart
Composition and Rhetoric, Post-Colonial Literature and Theory
Senior Lecturer
Edwards 269  |  843-349-2475  |  sstewart@coastal.edu 

Robert Zackowski
Composition and Rhetoric
Lecturer
Brittain Hall 226 | 843-349-5071 | rzackowsk@coastal.edu 

Teaching Associates 

Derrick Bracey
Kimbel 221  |  843-349-6423  |  dgbracey@coastal.edu 

Jenifer Butler
Kimbel 221  |  843-349-6423  |  jabutle1@coastal.edu 

Donna T. Corriher 
Kimbel 221  |  843-349-6423  |  dcorriher@coastal.edu 

Veronica Gerald 
Kimbel 221 | 843-349-6423 | vgerald@coastal.edu 

Kathy Madden 
Kimbel 221 | 84-349-6423 | kmadden@coastal.edu 

Nelljean McConeghey Rice
Online Only | 843-349-6423 | nrice@coastal.edu

Patrick Siebel
Kimbel 221 | 843-349-6423 | pasiebel@coastal.edu