Faculty - Coastal Carolina University
In This Section

English Faculty

Faculty are listed by area of expertise in alphabetical order.

Department Staff

Jen Boyle
Chair, Professor
Early Modern, New Media, Theory
Edwards 223  |  843-349-6654  |  jboyle@coastal.edu  

Denise Paster
Associate Chair, Professor
Coordinator of First Year Writing
Edwards 214  |  843-349-2612  |  dpaster@coastal.edu

Joan Trupiano
Administrative Specialist
Edwards 224  |  843-349-6423  |  trupiano@coastal.edu 

Creative Writing 

Dan Albergotti
Creative Writing, Poetry
Professor
Edwards 215  |  843-349-2420  |  albergot@coastal.edu 

Jason Bordt
Creative Writing, Fiction
Lecturer
Brittian Hall 218  |  843-349-6658  |  jbordt@coastal.edu 

Colin Burch
Creative Writing, Nonfiction
Senior Lecturer
Edwards 276  |  843-349-6617  |  cburch1@coastal.edu 

Jeremy Griffin
Creative Writing, Fiction
Lecturer
Edwards 269  |  843-349-4091  |  jgriffin@coastal.edu 

Amira Hanafi
Writer in Residence
Edwards 276 | 843-349-2488 | ahanafi@coastal.edu 

Hastings Hensel
Creative Writing, Poetry
Senior Lecturer
Edwards 276  |  843-349-2917  |  whensel@coastal.edu 

Jason Ockert
Creative Writing, Fiction
Professor
Edwards 233  |  843-349-2531  |  jockert@coastal.edu 

Joe Oestreich
Creative Writing, Nonfiction
Associate Dean and Professor of English
Edwards 203  |  843-349-2433  |  joeo@coastal.edu 

Lane Osborne
Creative Writing, Fiction
Lecturer
Brittain Hall 341 | 843-349-2871 | losborne@coastal.edu 

Jessica Lee Richardson
Coordinator of Creative Writing
Associate Professor
Edwards 234  |  843-349-2532  |  jliebeck@coastal.edu  

Digital Culture and Design 

Sarah Whitcomb Laiola
Digital Humanities, New and Emerging Media, Visual Art and Culture
Assistant Professor and Coordinator Digital Culture and Design
Edwards 106A | 843-349-6941 | slozierl@coastal.edu 

Adam Benn 
Cyberculture, game studies, locative media
Visiting Assistant Professor, Digital Culture & Design
Edwars 209 | abenn@coastal.edu 

Linguistics 

Kristen Fleckenstein
Discourse Analysis
Assistant Professor
Edwards 231  |  843-349-5006  |  kfleckens@coastal.edu 

J. Daniel Hasty
Sociolinguistics, Syntactic Variation, Language Attitudes
Associate Professor
Edwards 208  |  843-349-6685  |  jhasty@coastal.edu 

Literature 

Ellen Arnold
Nineteenth Century British Literature, Women's Studies
Senior Lecturer
Edwards 289  |  843-349-2606  |  sarnold@coastal.edu 

Steve Hamelman
Early American Literature, Literary and Media Theory, Popular Music
Professor
Edwards 291  |  843-349-2623  |  steveh@coastal.edu 

Tabitha Lowery
Coordinator of Liturature and Culture, African-American Literatures & Cultures
Assistant Professor
Edwards 288 | 843-349-2756 | tlowery@coastal.edu 

Kate Faber Oestreich
Coordinator of Graduate Studies; British Literature of the Long 19th Centry, Digital Storytelling, and Neo-Victorian Adaptations / Appropriations
Associate Professor
Edwards 211  |  843-349-6602  |  koestrei@coastal.edu 

Anna Oldfield
World Literature, Folklore, Magical Realism and Russian Literature
Chair Languages & Intercultural Studies Department, Associate Professor
Edwards 204  |  843-349-6591  |  aoldfield@coastal.edu 

Tripthi Pillai
English Renaissance Literature and Drama, Shakespeare
Assistant Dean, Associate Professor
Edwards 207  |  843-243-3410  |  tpillai@coastal.edu 

Cynthia Port
Modern and Contemporary British and Anglophone Literature, Age Studies, Literary and Cultural Theory
Associate Professor
Edwards 213  |  843-349-2565  |  cport@coastal.edu 

Writing and Rhetoric

Aari L. Campbell
Compostion
Lecturer
Brittain Hall 226 | 843-349-2124 | docampbe@coastal.edu 

Roman S. Garo
Compostion
Lecturer
EHFA 263 | 843-349-6930 | lrbuting@coastal.edu 

Joshua Cross
Composition
Lecturer
Edwards 277  |  843-349-4118  |  jcross2@coastal.edu 

Mary Emery
Composition
Lecturer
Edwards 289  |  843-349-2833  |  memery@coastal.edu 

Cathy Focarazzo-Riley
Compositon
Lecturer
Edwards 263  | 843-349-2334 | cfocarazz@coastal.edu 

Lisa Graves
Composition
Lecturer
Edwards 263  |  843-349-6668  |  lborne1@coastal.edu 

Emma Howes
Composition and Rhetoric, Literacy Studies, and Feminist Theory
Associate Professor
Edwards 212  |  843-349-6977  |  ehowes@coastal.edu 

David Kellogg
Technical and Professional Writing, Rhetoric of Science
Associate Professor
Edwards 293  |  843-349-6554  |  dkellogg@coastal.edu 

Linda Martin
Composition
Senior Lecturer
Brittain Hall 225  |  843-234-3495  |  lmartin1@coastal.edu  

Steve McCartney
Composition
Senior Lecturer
Brittain Hall 218  |  843-349-2798  |  smccartn@coastal.edu

Marcia McCreary
Composition
Lecturer
Brittain Hall 341 | 843-349-6445 | mmccreary@coastal.edu

Paul Plisiewicz
Composition
Lecturer
Brittain Hall 379 | 843-349-4051 | ppliesiewi@coastal.edu

Alan Reid
Composition, Professional and Technical Writing, Instructional Design and Technology
Associate Professor
Edwards 206  |  843-349-6974  |  areid@coastal.edu

Shawna Halbert Roessler
Composition
Lecturer
Edwards 235 | 843-349-2781 | shalber@coastal.edu

Christian Smith
Composition and Rhetoric
Associate Professor
Edwards 210  |  843-349-6967  |  csmith8@coastal.edu 

Sara Sobota
Composition and Rhetoric, Business Communication, Travel Writing
Senior Lecturer and Edwards College Publications Editor
Edwards 109  |  843-349-2507  |  ssobota@coastal.edu  

Shannon Stewart
Composition and Rhetoric, Post-Colonial Literature and Theory
Senior Lecturer
Edwards 269  |  843-349-2475  |  sstewart@coastal.edu 

Robert Zackowski
Composition and Rhetoric
Lecturer
Brittain Hall 226 | 843-349-5071 | rzackowsk@coastal.edu  

Teaching Associates

Amber Bacon 
abacon1@coastal.edu

Derrick Bracey
dgbracey@coastal.edu 

Donna Corriher 
dcorriher@coastal.edu  

Jessica Fokken 
jfokken@coastal.edu 

Anne Gammon 
amgammon@coastal.edu

Veronica Good
vjgood@coastal.edu 

Lindsay Hickman 
lehickman@coastal.edu

Erin Holliday-Karre
eholliday@coastal.edu  

Selena Mendoza
svmendoza@coastal.edu 

Zachary Thomas 
zthomas@coastal.edu 

Affiliated Faculty 

Kevin Ferguson
Lecturer
Edwards College 278  | 843-349-6635 | kferguson@coastal.edu