Faculty - Coastal Carolina University
In This Section

History Faculty

Christopher Gunn
Department Chair, Associate Professor 
Cold War, Political Violence, Post-Conflict Society
Brittain Hall 380 | 843-349-6461 | cgunn@coastal.edu

K. Karan Pillay
Administrative Specialist
Brittain Hall 211 | 843-349-6588 | kkpillay@coastal.edu 


Faculty

Aneilya Barnes
Professor
Late Antiquity; Roman Empire; Early Christianity; Women in the Early Church; Early Christian Architecture; Medieval Middle East
Brittain Hall 380 | 843-349-2525 | abarnes@coastal.edu

Michael T. Benson
President | Professor of History 
U.S. presidential history and American higher education history
Singleton Bldg | 843-349-2001 | mbenson@coastal.edu 

Merrill Boyce
Chief Executive-in-Residence and Global Business Coordinator
Wall 228A | 843-349-7629 | mboyce@coastal.edu

Christopher Boyle
Teaching Associate
Brittain Hall 378 | ccboyle@coastal.edu

Amanda M. Brian
Associate Professor | M.A. in Liberal Studies 
19th-Century Europe, Modern Germany, Children/Childhood, Visual Culture, European Colonialism & Imperialism
Edwards Humanities & Fine Arts 203 | 843-349-6653 | abrian@coastal.edu

Andrew Busch
Assistant Professor | Honors College
US History, Urban, Environmental, and Social History, History of Capitalism, Oral History, Globaliztion
Kearns Hall 114F | 843-349-6920 | abusch@coastal.edu 

Thomas A. Castillo
Associate Professor 
U.S. History; Labor, Social, Culture
Brittain Hall 374 | 843-349-2734 | tcastillo@coastal.edu

M. Katie Clary
Assistant Professor 
Public History; Museum Studies, Cultural Heritage Studies
Brittain Hall 368 | 843-349-2564 | mclary@coastal.edu 

Madison Cates
Assistant Professor
US History, African-American History, Environmental
Brittain Hall 370 | 843-349-2486 | 

Robert Davis
Teaching Associate
Brittain Hall 378 | rdavis@coastal.edu

F. Eliza Glaze 
Professor 
Early and High Medieval Europe; Ancient & Medieval Health, Medicine, and Disease; Medieval Mediterranean; Byzantine Empire; Norman Italy, Sicily, and Ifriqiya
Brittian Hall 371 | 843-234-3462 | fglaze@coastal.edu 

Rod O. Gragg
Director, Center for Military and Veterans Studies | Teaching Associate
Coastal Science Center 110 | 843-243-3431 | rgragg@coastal.edu

Charles Harris
Lecturer
Brittain Hall 376 | 843-349-6478 |  charris7@coastal.edu

Matthew Hassett                                                                                                                                    Lecturer                                                                                                                                               Brittain Hall 377 | 843-349-6695 | mhassett@coastal.edu

Scott Hileman
Teaching Associate
Brittain Hall 378 |  shileman@coastal.edu

Lawrence Kent
Senior Instructor
Brittain Hall 376 | 843-349-2499 | lkent@coastal.edu

Kevin Kokomoor
Lecturer
Brittain Hall 379 | 843-349-2897 | kkokomoor@coastal.edu

Matthew McDonough
Senior Lecturer
Brittain Hall 372 | 843-349-6982mmcdonoug@coastal.edu

Maggi Morehouse
Professor | Burroughs Distinguished Professor of Southern History & Cultures 
Southern; African American; Diaspora & Migration
Brittain Hall 373 | 843-349-6552 | morehouse@coastal.edu

Brian Nance
Professor
Brittain Hall 359 | 843-349-2461 | brian@coastal.edu

John Navin
Professor | Early American History
Brittain Hall 363 | 843-349-2437 | jnavin@coastal.edu

Shari Orisich
Associate Professor 
Latin America; Sciences of Crime & Youth; Political Violence; Visual Culture; Memory; Class and Gender/Sexuality
Brittain Hall 369 | 843-349-6669 | sorisich@coastal.edu

Brandon Palmer
Professor | Coordinator National SC History Day 
Modern East Asia, Military History, Korean-Americans
Brittain Hall 367 | 843-349-2472 | bpalmer@coastal.edu

Adam Powley
Teaching Associate
apowley@coastal.edu 

Renee Searfoss
Lecturer
Brittain Hall 364 | 843-349-4018 rsearfoss@coastal.edu

Philip Whalen
Professor                                                                                                                                              20th Century Europe 
Brittain Hall 377 | 843-349-2350 | pwhalen@coastal.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Eldred E. Prince Jr.
Professor Emeritus 
prince@coastal.edu

Roy Talbert
Professor Emeritus
talbert@coastal.edu

Kenneth Townsend
Professor Emeritus 
ken@coastal.edu

Robert Oliver
Professor Emeritus 
roliver@coastal.edu